top of page

Mental Health: why we aren't talking about it more.

Mental health.

We all have a mental state to upkeep. For majority of people in the world, mental health can be maintained without too much distress. It is highly reported time and time again that 1 in 4 people will experience a mental health problem in the course of their lifetime. THAT IS A LOT OF PEOPLE. Even if that directly doesn't apply to you, you will no someone.

I think the problem with mental health is that, it is, very personal. And an experience with mental health is like no others. No one to compare to. Treat it as individual and unique as the person it affects. Because, mental health - although their can be a direct link between an event, purpose or inflicted factor. Sometimes (maybe most times) there isn't a cause. It just is.

I can't say I am someone who is comfortable with my mental health status all the time. In fact, right now, this second, I am back in a distressed mental health position, which I haven't been in for a long time. So, it is safe to say, mental health illness doesn't just go away, nor is it present all the time.

Yes it is a little confusing...

Again, is that why this topic is still not spoken about using the right terminology? The right tone of voice? Used within the right context? Used to the right generation? - I THINK PEOPLE ARE SCARED INCASE THEY SAY THE WRONG THING...

But the same could be said for literally ANYTHING IN LIFE. Someone with cancer for example. Depression and cancer. People (sadly) die from both causes. Medication is available to treat both. Both can have physical symptoms. Both can have mental symptoms. And yet, if two people, one with cancer, one with depressed both announced to a room that they had those illnesses. One would get the upmost sympathy, hugs, tears and compassion. One would get award looks, eye rolls, judgement and talks of 'well they don't look ill'?... (just have a think about which ones would be which in that situation).

Mental health doesn't need to be dramatic either. Yes, there really can be extreme affects (suicide is one of the biggest killers of men due to depression - LINK)

But also checking in one someone is actually easier than making a doctors appointment but could be more affective that you think. Mental health check ups shouldn't be the 'polite' thing. It should be an essetial thing. Okay, we get into a routine when we see someone

'Hi'

'Hey'

'How's it going?"

'Yeah, good thanks, you?'

'Yeah doing good thanks'

'Great, see you later'.... Thats not really checking in one someone. All it takes is to ask someone this question.

'How are you really doing?, what's going on with you?'

Simple. But it really does work. It lets you as the person asking, that you want to know more than just a simple baseline answer. And as the responder, it makes you feel that they really want to know the ins and outs of everything with you. Its not just a catch up, its a moment to let go and open up.

Why are we still not talking about it?

I can only relate it to myself as a reference here. So current me if this doesn't apply the yourself. But I think for a lot of people, they don't realise they actually have a problem until its too late. How do you recognise feelings that can be somewhat normal (normal levels of anxiety is okay, feeling low mood is a normal reaction in the right context) so how do we judge what's normal and what's an illness?

I guess thats only for you to know. But self-diagnosing is the real issue. People don't want to admit they have a problem. Myself included. Who on earth wants to think they are ill? No one of course. We al like to think we can push pass problems and that they'll eventually go. Which some do, but some need more treatment the ease the process. You wouldn't say to someone with cancer to push pass their illness. So why tell yourself (or someone else) to 'get on with it' or 'it'll get better'. Don't stop yourself from getting better just because its in your head.

MENTAL HEALTH IS PHYSICAL HEALTH TOO.

Lastly, if you cut yourself from mental health. Hide your peripheral vision from seeing the issues. You are causing half the problem. I mean this both from a suffers point of view and also someone to help someone suffering. I integrate mental health into my everyday, whether I am suffering or not. I read news articles, read studies, listen to talks about mental health. Yes, it does interest me. But it actually helps me understand others. As I said earlier, everyones mental health illness is different and unique. Therefore reading and learning about it more can only help me grow to help understand others better, as well as myself. Don't hide away from learning about it. Knowledge is powerful for the human mind, and the human mind loves to know how it works. Trust me, as soon as I understand something I feel I AM IN CONTROL. On a mental health level, control is sometimes what we lack and thats when our mind is running wild.

Related Posts

See All

I have finally let go...

I’ve gained empowerment by letting go… This week, rather one day, I grew up. Not just grow but I grew up and outwards. My height to see a picture beyond the short term path. I was able to look beyond

bottom of page