top of page

Why waking up at 5am has changed my life.

I was quite a regular sleeper in terms of waking up at a normal time of 7:30am and going to bed around 10/10:30pm. Nothing uncommon or particularly strange. It wasn’t until I reached a point of stress and struggling to fit life into such a short time frame and lacking energy that I needed to change my routine. If you know me, I love a routine but changing a good one is such a task and really is a big effort for me to stick to… and actually commit to it.

Revision season was in swing, and I am someone who needs to fits in lots to feel that the day has been productive and useful. I have always been a morning person. I don’t wake up with a big smile on my face, chatting away to the birds and sings to the wildlife (I am not a Disney princess!!) however I work best, feel best and have the best energy levels in the morning. So I needed to utilise the time I was wasting sleeping (when I know it is my optimum time to be awake) to start revising! Let’s make it clear though, I didn’t get less sleep because I woke up earlier. Sleep is crucial! CRUCIAL for being healthy. As my mom often says ‘you can’t burn the candle at both ends’. This applies to sleep for me. If I wake up early, it means I have the compensate by going to bed earlier so I get my full 8-9 hours of restful, deep sleep. I thrive off good sleep levels, I think most do! I can significantly tell when I have had good amount of sleep, or when I needed a few extra hours.

When I wake up at 5am, I am not superwoman. It takes me a while to get out of bed and actually start the day. But those extra 2/3 hours I’m awake whilst most people are asleep is something I find really magical and really enjoy. It has become something worth waking up for. I find it hard sometimes (who wouldn’t!) however, it has made me

-happier

-productive

-energised

-less stressed

-more ME!

I don’t do it everyday. But when I know I have a busy day with lots of deadlines and commitments- that’s when I set my alarm and get the day starts ASAP!

I can’t believe the difference I am/ I have in the day when I have woken up early and started the day with an awesome feel of the mornings.

Sleep well, feel good!

Simply Martha x


Related Posts

See All
bottom of page